Slithering!

Posted: December 31, 2014 in Eve Online
Tags: , , , ,

I have come to a realization… that sometimes I am an idiot. I have had Infomorph Pysch trained to level IV for like two years… and did not realize until two days ago I could install another jump clone. Once I realized that, I did the only logical thing and bought a HG Snake set to install in said empty clone.

This lead to two different roams on two different night with epicly different outcomes.

Night 1:

I flew a Sentinel while FCing a small corp roam. We had a quick little fight in Kamela before that, in which I got my first Confessor kill and lost a Caracal. We went back out, got a few small kills and found a fleet of 10 Comets with three Navitas.

Just so you can see the epic brilliance of my FCing, our fleet consisted of:

Omen Navy- 2 Scythe Fleet – Wolf – Succubus – Sentinel – Garmur – Worm

I was FCing and flying the Sentinel – Sooooo quick recap of what happens.

They land, I get targetted, and start managing 2 neuts, a nos, 2 TDs, my ranges to their fleet, and my drones who they keep shooting forcing me to be recalling, redeploying, and engaging again.

This results in. absolutely no calling of anything useful by me as my fleet was getting decimated. We ended up losing most of my fleet, the Garmur / Succubus got away was it. We killed 3 Navitas and 1 Comet…. The Sentinel however, was an epic blast to fly, and i really enjoyed the complexities of flying it in a fleet, took more skill than most things I’ve flown.

Night 2:

The next night however, was way more fun. I fit up a Caracal Navy Issue, and went out in a duo with Muloch who was in a Rail Deimos. We got into a small brawl involving a Crow, Oracle, and Drake. I don;t want to discuss the details since it involved my stupidity, but we lost points on both the Drake and Oracle… both of which were dying. So we lost out on some kills but were able to successfully test the combination of DPS and speed.

Some pirates tried to bait us with a Rupture / Ashimu, which we were fully planning on engaging until they had the rest of their fleet undocked, which was like 10 people linked so we said no thanks.

A few jumps past that we got into a brawl with a pirate Ortherus / Cynabel. They were linked… as were we. Sadly they were faction fit, and Muloch and I split them apart from each other, and realized we couldn’t beat them, and both successfully disengaged. It was an interesting fight, even though no one died since it involved both of us flying vs both of them who knew how to fly too. Ironically the pirates were impressed we had a clue too, and we made some friends out of it.

Finally, we got an engagement next door to the pirates! They had a Cerberus/Harpy/Thrasher/Merlin/Griffin/Scythe.

We went for it in the Large plex when they came in at us. First two ships in were the Merlin / Harpy… so we did the logical thing and gang raped the merlin as fast as possible. It only took a few volleys, and popped before the scythe landed. As soon as it did, the Thrasher landed, with Scythe/Cerb were arriving, and the Griffin came in at range. We primaried the Thrasher next, which ended up causing me a reload since the Scythe kept his shield repping annoyingly fast. My last volley got the kill though, and as I reloaded I burned out to the Griffin.

Muloch was taking some serious damage with his Deimos, but began to burn down the Scythe. I finally reloaded, Griffin missed a jam cycle, and I volleyed him while burning back to the rest of the hostile fleet. Muloch popped the Scythe, and even though he was dipping into structure, they decided to bail. Sadly the Cerb got out before I could get into Overheated point range of him, but managed to at least catch the Harpy and pop it. If they stayed, the probably would have killed the Deimos… possibly it would have been close, and lost the Cerb so I guess it was a good call on their end.

https://zkillboard.com/kill/43501394/

https://zkillboard.com/kill/43501402/

https://zkillboard.com/kill/43501423/

https://zkillboard.com/kill/43501430/

https://zkillboard.com/kill/43501444/

It was a good test of the Caracal Navy… which I actually greatly enjoyed flying. It sucked I screwed up and we lost a couple more solid kills but it was fun. I am starting to get into the hang of flying my ships again… which is pretty awesome.

Good news is you actually pay attention to my blog… New Years Day.. I have GOLEMS GONE WILD going out. A marauder roam… ¬†hopefully that will provide a good story regardless!

Fly Dangerously My Friends,

The Snake Set Wielding… Kasken

Leave a Reply

