LAWN – First Impressions & Small Gang Pew-Pew

Posted: July 9, 2015 in Eve Online
Tags: , , , , ,

angry-garden-gnome

So I’ve been in Get Off my Lawn a few days now and settled in a bit. I got several ships moved, a handful of them blown up, and a good chunk of kills. As of writing this I shot myself up to #5 on the corporation killboard! I also managed to 1v1 Suitonia (EveIsEasy video maker on youtube) and had some fun fights.

So, impressions of LAWN / CFC thus far. The organization, communication, and the like is truly impressive. I’ve been GRRR CFC for a long time. I disagree with SRP, risk adversity, and a good chunk of that still. But, I can’t find a reason to dislike LAWN thus far as an alliance. Statistics, income, where the isk is going, and communication has all been transparent. The IT services are beyond top notch (it’s cool to see the auth system DIP used pimped out and functioning flawlessly from the user side). Fleets seem to be semi-frequent, and I am slowly starting to invite more people onto my micro-gang roams as I begin learning the area.

Contracts have been pretty well stocked, although there was a strat op last night I didn’t go on because I didn’t have a Tengu kicking around and none were up, but I got to mess with my nano vigilant which worked out. I flew on one op, with an FC… who has that “Dank frags man, bitches love my dank frags” type attitude. I figure most alliances have some of those dudes, and I just won’t fly under them. As a guy who has never done drugs (besides some heavy drinking in college), that way of talking sounds so uneducated and retarded to me personally, I just can’t listen to it. I’m also not a fan of, “it’s cool, I can say “nigger” because I’m not racist, I have black friends.”

Thus far my overall impressions of CFC / Lawn in TLDR: Incredible organization + communication. Badass IT setup. Fights are rough to come by (even on a border region) but that is a general state of Eve. Also… dronelands aren’t the most active of regions in general. Onto the fights!

11371_256

So I took my Confessor out, which is still one of my favorite ships, promptly got myself stuck in a bubble, and forgot to switch into defensive mode… I did manage to pop the tackling Taranis but pretty much insta popped with it. After that wee bit of embarrassing stupidity, I grabbed an arty wolf and headed back out to roam the Geminate area. Our fleet consisted of the overwhelming DPS of… the arty wolf, a claw, and an ares. Naturally, what we end up finding that we can catch is two procurers mining in a belt. We pin both and go to work. We are deep in a dead end pipe series of systems, we have seen some people floating around, and the though process is gank and run…. with our overwhelming DPS against mining barges that can beast tank.

The procs did what you would expect, dropped drones and start hammering us. My wolf fit was not exactly what could be considered cap stable, and this entire process involved took a while. I had to warp off to rep + regain cap, and since we were expecting backup we didn’t kill the drones right away. One of our inties had to burn out almost dead, and the second inty kept tackle while I warped off and back, he survived with 2% structure left. We managed to kill one procurer finally, second warped off. The Arty wolf is decent in some respects, but as a primary DPS source…. not so much.

We took a small break and went back out, I brought a Stabber and Kibitt came with me in a sniper Cormorant. A Blackbird and Myrm came after us… which allowed us to kill the Blackbird and get out before Myrm could tackle. Not an amazing kill but it was amusing. We then caught and killed an interesting Vexor fit in a bubble.

Fast forward to the next day when I fought Suitonia 1v1 TO THE DEATH!!!!!!! If you don’t know who Suitonia is… here is a link to his youtube stuff. He is a very good manual piloting fellow, who knows his stuff inside and out. I had, at work, watched his video of his troll ceptor entosis stations to get fights video. I then logged on, and saw his name in intel, and that he was in a Raptor. A short period of time later we got the message that one of our stations was being attacked. I did the only logical thing, which was jump into my Malediction and head straight over.

Disclaimer: my Malediction fit is used as tackle, if I had paused in my excitement long enough to realize I was indeed going to dogfight, I would have refit a scram instead which could have made the difference. I still rarely lose fights with my Malediction, and I figured let’s do this. I got there before most anyone else (for some reason they were trying to form a full on fleet which was silly) and found him as expected near the station. I landed and burned away, not at full speed because I wanted to separate him from the other person there as well. Note: the second inty didn’t even move (zero velocity) so it was quickly obvious he was going for the solo fight. I turned, rolled in to engage and we shot past each other as expected.

This is where lack of scram and inability to hold range murdered me. He was able to kick my MWD back off before I could pull any sort of range letting him get back on top of my with blasters extremely quickly. I had my rockets overloaded (and even had javelin loaded so I got some free hits, however he was buffer fit. I took him down to about 1/3 shield before I popped, which isn’t terrible. With a scram I might have been able to hold him at Null range instead of anti-matter which would have let my rep keep up much better and possibly won me the fight. Either way, he was cool and we chatted in local for a bit after so I was happy.

Malediction Loss   (Suitonia’s Raptor Fit)

tower-3-2

A bit later I went roaming in my Confessor (cause it’s so fun to fly), ganked a Covetor, that I burned 107k towards to tackle without him noticing. I was talking to a friend in one of the hostile forces near us that said they won’t fight us because, well LAWN always hot drops them. I was telling him in general I don’t do all that and the like. Ironically, we catch word of a Gila coming to us, get tackle prepped with a random alliance mate who is nearby. He happened to be the blops cyno… so our kill (Gila) ended up getting blopsed on mid conversation of me saying I don’t do that. At least my buddy knew it wasn’t specifically me since I had been roaming the area.

We returned and intel reported a Vaga was 2 jumps out from where i was staged. I  jumped into my Deimos and headed over, to discover the Vaga had a Loki with him as well. I tackled the Loki as the Vaga ended up being far off,  but he kept burning out of range. I had forgotten to get Null in my cargo as well since I had just moved all my ships out here. I was trying to bait tank him in a bit, and the Vaga finished killing something and came on in to play. I was perfectly fine with this, as he burned into web / scram range of me, at which point I had to legit rep and brawl. I did fine… until the Hyperion landed. I popped the Vaga, and worked more on the Loki but I couldn’t get range to live and eventually died, however more people in alliance started to show and maintained tackle. I swapped out to a Garmur because I wanted to keep Loki / Hype pointed safely at range and I had no other good ships to brawl them with. Loki ended up getting killed, and the Hyperion played some gate games with it’s crazy beast tank. Only two of us recognized when he deaggressed, so when he jumped gate myself and a Sabre jumped with him. Caught tackle, and he died on other side.

Fight on 1 Side (Notice Garmur = top damage with EM missiles on a Loki cause of my Deimos dying)
Hyperion

I am aware some of the deaths / fits were…. interesting. I didn’t “FC” I was in fleet with Ashimmu and a Caracal, that was it.

Finally, after that we went down to BWF-ZZ to play, as one of my friends brought in his Tengu. We engaged on the station, and even though an Archon undocked, we had plenty of kills and no losses there as well, that was pretty fun. They had a Claymore, another Ishtar, and some other things that did not show up on report as they didn’t die or get any kills.

Battle Report

377537310_1024I went out again last night, but only got a couple of hauler kills. I also lost a Jackdaw vs an overkill response by xXDeathXx but it happens. I wasn’t overly impressed with the Jackdaw, it was underwhelming after flying the Confessor. I haven’t taken out my Svipul yet, but I finally bought one. We managed to kill a Cerberus but that was it.

The industrial kills we had, weren’t impressive, besides the decloak we got on the Crane, however I might have found a new favorite ship to fly. The nano-Vigilant was a frigging blast. I survived skirmishing with a nano-gang, of course I didn’t kill the Stiletto or Heretic because changing ammo types apparently is too difficult for me. It aligns fast as hell, warps decently of course, and can project dps solidly while stopping real tackle from landing on you with a faction web. I intend of rolling with this a bit more. Granted, with links it would be far more effective, but even with just regular fleet bonuses it is solid.

Vigilant Fitting

Lastly, I actually have a big chunk of readers now, which I greatly appreciate. Writing is fun, writing where no one reads it though is boring. So first off, thank you to all of you who read this. Second, I am thinking about trying to make this more interactive.

IE: Let readers pick out some ships for me to roam and write reports about, take some of the readers with me in small fleets if people are interested, and things like that. I also am very interested in making some PvP videos, I just have absolutely zero knowledge of using things like Vegas and the like to make it happen. I’d absolutely love someone who is good at it to help teach me, or fly with me so we can make movies together (that sounds a little like bro-love). Or any advice, commentary, things, suggestions, I’d like to start getting some feedback from people and expand my Eve gameplay using you readers to do it.

Basically I am encouraging you, the reader, to take an active part on my Eve life, get in touch with me in game (Kasken) or leave comments on here if you have any interest…

The Once and Future Lobster King

Kasken

The_Lobster_King_by_wise_purple_joda

Comments
  1. Lowhyres says:

    Kasken, first off much love bro. But I’m in the middle of finishing up my market for fw. I hope to go out into gem and drone lands to do some solo. I miss my Vagas and curse. I would be down for doing this. I can even have kylie set up twitch if we really wanted to be all crazy lol. I’ll let u know for sure in about a week. Also scythe fleet issues are great for learning Vagas.

    • Kasken says:

      It’s fairly quiet during US TZ… but Scalding Pass isn’t overwhelmingly far with nano ships so I can always roam down to my old stomping ground (Plus I know you PFR guys miss having the evil Kasken to shoot at)

  2. Dingus Rx says:

    Excellent write up, love your writing style. Dingus Rx – LAWN

  3. Orion Sa-Solo says:

    Nice post, and as much as I like to grrr goons there are times I see why they are one of the best Coalitions in Eve.

  4. Companion says:

    I can join a NPSI roam if you’ll host one.

    Or… do you like tournament setups? If you do, you could form a LAWN team and contact “NT_Collides” organizers.
    And tell the readers about the adventures along the way.

  5. Pick ships to roam in? BC too slow? Can you bring Drake?
    …caldari missile ships!

  6. Dorian Reu says:

    Hey Bud, I’m just glad you’re writing happy again.

  7. Thurifer says:

    When I was still in my trial period I made a fast run to null in my atron…mined an asteroid and GTFO. It was a LAWN system and as a result that corp always has a soft spot in my heart as a result. Fly safe o7.

Leave a Reply

