How to Lose a Nano Vigilant in 10 Days

Posted: July 15, 2015 in Eve Online
Tags: , , , , ,

How-to-Lose-a-Guy-in-10-Days-2003

I am a serious badass with Photoshop. Don’t be jealous. It takes years to hone these incredible skills, or at least 5 minutes at work.

So my Nano-Vigilant… has sadly been lost. It was a pretty good experience, although slightly awkward and painful. So let’s begin shall we…

It was a dark and stormy night (seriously I had thunderstorms going on) and the fateful decision was made to go roaming in nano ships. Plans were laid, pings were sent, and a fleet was formed. This really just meant I said in alliance I’m about to lead a nano roam and collected a small group of people daring enough to come with me.

We left our staging and headed out across Geminate, into Kalevala Expanse… and found absolutely nothing. Slight amendment to that, we did indeed get our kill of the night: Super Leet PvP. We made the decision to head towards Scalding Pass instead. We instead met a Drama Sutra fleet. I learned a few things that night:

1. These gentlemen know how to fly their ships
2. These gentlemen can afford to fit their ships with some pimp fittings.
3. They have links

We had a handful of blues in the next system who offered to engage as well. Our fleet consisted of a handful of smaller nano ships, Confessor, Thorax, Vigilant, Svipul, Scythe, Gila, Cruor, and Maller. Our blues had a Curse, and a couple of Ruptures I believe it was. Drama Sutra was rolling with Tengu links, Rapier, Typhoon Fleet Issue, Muninn, Sabre, Gila, Stiletto, and possibly more ships I forgot about.

Now that we got the boring ships listing out of the way, the enemy fleet was competent, their guys knew how to fly, and were very well fit ships. I was hesitant to engage even with our blues, as their nano fleet had DPS out the wazoo, and were quite competent. So we played some warp around games and in mid warp the Sabre dropped drag bubbles off the gate. Most of us were in varying locations scattered around the system Atioth. Our blues + Enemy fleet landed in the drag bubble. The Sabre and Stiletto were on the gate with a decent separation though. So my brilliant plan was to warp in blind to the gate (as our scout had to warp), gank the Sabre and and Stiletto and see what we could accomplish with the enemy fleet.

durr_answer_2_xlargeSo, if any of you are following… the brilliant move I made in my tactical decision was not realizing… I was in line with the gate when we warped in to kill the Sabre. I was excited for a kill after an hour+ of nothing and messed up that little part of it. So a handful of us who were right next to each other landed in the bubble as well. I overheated and started burning away. That was brilliant, if I hadn’t completely ignored the Rapier. I got webbed from well over 40k, and another fleet member said he got webbed at 90k+. Faction webs + overheat + links can be scary. It ended pretty much as expected…

Departed Too Young

It was an interesting little game for a bit of course. Then I got absolutely wrecked due to a really stupid warp in. It was a simple mistake and we got wrecked for it, so props to the Drama Sutra guys for taking full advantage of it. I always find it amusing when you are roaming through hostile space, and you end up fighting a separate hostile gang because the locals dock up and ignore you. It was fun though, and will definitely get another Nano Vigilant soon.

The Once and Future Lobster King

Kasken

The_Lobster_King_by_wise_purple_joda

Leave a Reply

